Keswick School Multi Academy Trust

Bassenthwaite School has a very active Local Governing Body. Working closely with the Headteacher and other teaching staff in the school, the Governing Body set the direction of the school, monitor the school’s performance and support the school to continue improving. The register of pecuniary and business interests can be found in the school office.

Keswick School became the lead school in Keswick School Multi Academy Trust on the 1st January 2017, with Bassenthwaite joining on 1st January 2018. The Multi Academy Trust is administered by five Members and nine Directors. The Headteacher of Keswick School is Executive Principal.

Bassenthwaite School have their own Local Governing Body comprising of nine Governors including two elected Parent Governors and one elected Staff Governors.  The Governors oversee different functions within the school depending on the responsibility delegated to them by the Directors.  They support the work of the Board of Directors through taking decisions and making recommendations.

The school is supported directly by the Department for Education.

You can contact the Directors or Governors via the Clerk to the Directors: Mrs Annabel Scott, c/o Keswick School, Tel. 017687 72605 or

Agendas and minutes are available on request by contacting the Clerk to the Governing Body (

The current governors, whose term of office last until January 2026 (unless stated differently below), for our school are as follows:

Local Governing Body

Chair of Governors Margaret Taylor (also Chair of Staffing, Curriculum and SEND committee)
Vice Chair FGB Mark Ainsworth (Chair of Finance, Premises, H+S and Safeguarding Governor)
Teacher Governors Sara Royle (Headteacher)
Anneli Pickering (Vice Chair of Staffing, Curriculum and SEND committee)
 Parent Governors Christopher Ingram -Sep 2026 (Vice Chair of Finance, Premises, H+S)
Adrian Gurnett – (Health and Safety) Sep 2024
Co-opted Governors Louise Wright – (SEND Governor) – June 2027Elizabeth Marrs(Pastoral) – Sep 2024Ian Hope – June 2027
Clerk to the Governors Annabel Scott

Finance, Premises, Health and Safety Committee

Mark Ainsworth (Chair)
Ian Hope  Adrian Gurnett
Sara Royle    Christopher Ingram

Staffing, SEND and Curriculum Committee

Margaret Taylor (Chair)
Anneli Pickering  Mark Ainsworth
Sara Royle  Liz Marrs Louise Wright

Copies of relevant documents regarding the governance of the Multi Academy trust are available to view and download below:

Governors Training / Attendance and Business Register

All Governors are required to attend a variety of different training courses whenever possible.

View Governors Training

Bassenthwaite Local Governing Body Meeting Attendance Record 2022-2023

MATDeclaration of Interest

Bassenthwaite Declaration of Interests Form Sep 2022

Academy Consultation

Please see attached our academy consultation documents. Bassenthwaite Primary School Consultation Document (slightly amended and justified)